Chief Executive's Report (2018-2019)

Dear friends,

1. Cultivate Positive Mindset by Storytelling

It is our mission to develop optimistic, happy and empathetic children by innovative storytelling programs. Up to this year, the “Read to Change” Project had served 900 students from 19 primary schools that benefited from our storytelling activities that were used to educate their understandings of others’ emotion and thoughts and imitate pro-social behaviour. The results are very promising! Further, Dr. Annis Fung had presented the prominent research findings at an international conference held in Berlin, Germany.

To promote inter-generational inclusion among elderly and children, we held some meaningful projects such as: Story Tea House, Lohas Clan and Story Wonderland. Young old volunteers developed their potentials of storytelling skills and community services while the children could understand the needs of elderly thus render support and concern for them.

The following service statistics shows the wide support HAC received in the year:

Total attendances:102,866
School storytelling workshops:142
Children benefited in story activities:22,238
Trained parent beneficiaries:2,318

2. Equip Ourselves for Changes

We stress on staff enhancements so that we can keep our efforts for impactful storytelling for children going. This year, two staff training activities were conducted to uplift our skills and knowledge of “Communications with Different Types of Parent Service Users” and “Integrity and Law Compliance”. Our staffs were also sent to courses outside with 412 hours recorded.

In corporate governance, our Board of Directors had joined the Hong Kong NGO Governance Health Survey 2018 co-organised by ExCEL3 of The University of Hong Kong, Governance and Management Excellence for Public Benefit (GAME) and Hong Kong Council of Social Service. We further understood the strengths and weakness of our Board and possibilities for board future development.

HAC is so grateful to have the unfailing support from:

Champion REIT
City University of Hong Kong, Department of Social and Behavioural Sciences
The Community Chest of Hong Kong
Deacons
Hip Hing Construction
The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust
MTR Corporation
Operation Santa Claus
Societe Generale
Vibro Construction Company Ltd
W.L. Gore & Associates (Hong Kong) Ltd
Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged
Social Welfare Department

With the above supporters, we co-created feasible solutions in supporting storytelling and inter-generational inclusion for children.

3. Social Welfare Department’s Best Practice Manual

We stringently implemented the captioned (Level One) to have regular reviews of the usage and reasonable level of Lump Sum Grant Reserve at the board meetings and adjusted our staff salaries in line with the Civil Servant Pay Adjustment of 2018.

The work in 2018-19 is filled with grace and blessings. We look forward to having you standing by us, together, we can continue to colour a hopeful new page for the children!

HAC
Executive Director
May Wong

總幹事報告 (2018-19 年度)

各位朋友:

1. 活用故事 培養孩子正向心靈

我們一直以創新故事活動去培養積極、 開心和富同理心的小朋友。這一年「悅讀新視野」共服務了19間小學, 讓900位小學生透過故事理解別人情緒, 學習換位思考和培養良好行為,很欣喜這項實證為本的服務成效顯著, 並在2019年中於德國柏林國際會議中發表最新研究成果。

我們亦推行多項計劃 ,例如:「故事茶座 」、「樂齡童盟」和「故事遊樂園」 去推動長幼共融, 發掘金齡義工講故事和做服務的潛能, 同時,亦培養小朋友了解長者需要,以及身體力行去關懷他們。

這一年的數據摘要說明安徒生會的服務得到廣泛支持:

總服務人次:102,866
到校提供故事培訓服務:142
參與兒童故事活動人次:22,238
受訓家長人次:2,318

2. 同心協力 與時並進

我們一直重視員工培訓, 過去一年在會內進行了「與不同類型家長的溝通技巧」及「誠信守法講座」職員培訓,同事參與外間訓練累積達412 小時, 藉此裝備同事繼續提供優質服務, 積極向基層家庭和兒童推動故事和閱讀服務。

在機構管治方面, 本會的董事會參加了由「香港大學睿智計劃」、「良管善治工作室」及香港社會服務聯會合辦的「香港非政府機構管治健康狀況調查2018」, 參與過程令我們從顧問團隊的研究分析, 了解到董事會的強項和弱項,以及董事會未來需要發展的一些方向。

一直以來, 安徒生會都感恩有許多長期合作夥伴,他們是:

冠君產業信託
香港城市大學應用社會科學系
香港公益金
的近律師行
協興建築
香港賽馬會慈善信託基金
港鐵公司
愛心聖誕大行動
法興銀行
惠保建築有限公司
戈爾(香港)有限公司
攜手扶弱基金
社會福利署

感謝以上長期合作夥伴與我們攜手創造可行方案,並提供資源推廣兒童閱讀和長幼共融。

3. 社會福利署「最佳執行指引」

本會嚴謹執行社會福利署訂定的「最佳執行指引」第一組的各項標準, 當中包括:董事會定期檢視整筆過撥款的儲備使用和合理水平,並根據2018年度公務員薪酬調整百分比調整員工薪酬。

讓我們懷著感恩的心情去總結2018-2019年, 並熱切期待大家繼續與安徒生會同行, 為孩子寫下充滿人情味的新一章!

安徒生會
總幹事
黃美坤