Storytelling for Social Impact

 

The Power of Story

Have you found that every time you tell a story, even a super naughty child will be quiet and listen to the story?

Story has a special power, it can catch children's attention. Values implanted in story are always easier for children to learn and absorb. With more than 50-year experience, Hans Andersen Club keeps organising creative storytelling activities, aiming to bring the best storytelling experience and impact to children.

Cultivate Positive Mindset

 

Holistic Development: Be Positive Towards Hardness

Holistic development is not only about academic, it is more about learning attitude. Children are full of curiosity. Looking into new stuff helps inspiring children's thinking and creativity, but "unknown" also scares people. To better prepare themselves for challenges, learning from story is one of the best way.

Story enables children to simulate the situation or think from a specific role. Children will be less scared by "unknown" when they can imagine what to do and the possible consequence.

Besides, curiosity is an essential attitude for learning. We hope that story would help them to develop an interest towards different knowledge, equip themselves for their future.

Embrace Social Inclusion

 

Learning from Each Other Regardless of Background

Old age is an inevitable social issue in the coming future. Many thought elders are the vulnerable groups, in fact they have a lot of experience and knowledge that is worth learning.

Therefore, we encourage these young-olds to be story volunteers via professional training. We hope the young-old volunteers could utilize their strength. Besides, children could learn and understand more about elders in order to achieve social inclusion and intergenerational harmony. Children could also serve the elders in return, trying to change their roles in different situations.

創新活用故事

 

故事的力量

你有發現到每次講故事時,再跳皮的孩子都會安靜下來,聆聽故事嗎?

故事有一種獨特的力量,可以捉住孩子的注意力;由故事說出來的道理,往往更容易讓孩子不知不覺地吸收,因此,有著超過五十年故事活動經驗的安徒生會,為孩子舉辦各式各樣的故事活動,務求以創新的故事活動,令故事帶給孩子的教育、知識和影響發揮到最大。

培育正向心靈

 

全人發展 正向面對困難

全人發展不單是學業成績上,更重要是學習態度。小朋友對新事物特別好奇,研究新事物有助刺激孩子的創造力,但「未知」同樣容易令人害怕,如何理解及面對新事物將會影響到孩子日後的價值觀等。要令孩子面對不同事物前先預備好自己的心靈,訓練好正面的態度,故事就是最好的「預習」方法。

故事容易讓孩子代入,令小朋友不會因此「未知」而害怕,反而會幻想自己如何面對新挑戰,代入角色令孩子可以預早想像得到可能會出現的情況及後果,準備好對策,減少對「未知」的恐懼。

另外,好奇心是孩子學習及讀書非常重要的態度。我們希望在孩子成長的時期,透過故事多讓他們接觸新事物,培養他們對發掘知識的熱忱,為日後成長打好基礎。

多元金齡共融

 

不論背景共融共學

人口老化是未來本港一個很大的社會議題,但長者並非只是弱勢社群,長者的經歷和學識都值得我們學習。

因此,安徒生會期望可以訓練長者成為金齡故事義工,鼓勵他們繼續以自己豐富的知識和能力培訓新一代;另外,我們亦鼓勵孩子主動了解長者生活,為孩子提供服務長者的機會,達到義工及受助者角色互換,促進跨代共融。